Breathing & Cookies

I had a terrible nightmare last night. =( Right before bed, I found out my family reunion in August had been cancelled due to my great aunt Aki going on hospice. I’m sad that’s she’s going, but I know that she’s had a great life. She made it to see all of her grandchildren marry and even see her great grandchildren born last month. That’s more than my grandmother did, and I know since my grandmother’s death, my aunt Aki has missed her sister everyday.

Because of this news however, my nightmare involved my aunt Aki dying in my arms. =( I woke up with tears on my face and a big fat Vinni on my chest, bugging me to feed him.

002

Life goes on though and I made a wonderful breakfast. A cup of Brown Cow plain fat-free yogurt (since Stonyfield’s is only sold at Good Food Store and I wasn’t near there), mixed with flax and almond butter, topped with 1/2 banana, blueberries, blackberries, Quaker Oatmeal Squares, and a sprinkle of dried blueberries.

This A+ bowl got me all the way until lunch time! That includes my 45 minute lap swim in which I made a breakthrough! All this time I’ve been doing laps with only three breaths. I can hold my breath for a long time, so why not right? Wrong. It would (of course) leave me much more tired than I aught to be due to lack of oxygen and not due to working my muscles! Now I take double the amount of breaths and I can really keep plowing through the water!

031

After swimming, I waited for Chase to get his lunch break while I snacked on this super juicy peach. Seriously, I took one bite and dumped a waterfall on the floor! Whoops!

032

An hour later it was time for lunch..sadly it was a fail lunch. I’d brought this same lunch yesterday and didn’t end up eating it..but it ended up spending too much time out in the heat. I was able to eat about half the salad of spinach, 1/4 of penne with garlic scape pesto, and shaved radish. That’s it! I had to throw away my Siggi’s yogurt since the lead had leaked it had gotten so hot…I didn’t want to chance getting sick.

033

Due to my fail lunch Chase took me across the street for a small cherry-dripped cone at DQ! I love these! I can’t believe anyone would order anything other than a small though, these are huge!

015

I went off and got my hair trimmed today. Nothing drastic, but more shape and volume. My hairdresser (Lori) and I decided to give into my waves and curls this time! We’ll see how it works out. I just don’t want triangle head anymore!

022

Man I was hungry for dinner! As soon as Chase got home we turned the stove on! I had pinwheel pasta tossed with the last of the garlic scape pesto, sautéed asparagus and spinach, and a Morningstar Farms California Turk’y burger. It was deeellicciouss.

024

I felt like being silly and also poured myself some sparkling water with some blackberries tossed in. It didn’t really add any flavor to the water, but it was a nice little sweet bite at the end of the meal!

027

While slaving over my chemistry homework (that I didn’t get done earlier due to hair appointment), I munched on a small bowl of strawberries. I need to finish these babies off because they are on their way out!

030

And then while cursing the laws of thermodynamics, I took a break and made these Vegan Pumpkin Molasses Cookies from the Healthy Everythingtarian!

I used 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 white. I was surprised by the amount of oil in the recipe since pumpkin is a lot of the time used to replace the oil, but stuck to the recipe anyway. Sadly the ground ginger was replaced with pumpkin pie spice since I had none. They definitely are missing that little extra zing but are still delectable. I also ended up with a lot more cookies than the recipe said since I apparently made them way too small in the first batch! That means I can eat three right? =P Good. ‘Cause I did!

These babies are soft, wholesome, and give you that happy feeling of the holiday season due to the similar smell of gingerbread. ❤  I highly suggest making them, especially if you’re like me and have extra pumpkin that needs to be used up before it goes bad. It’s too hot for my favorite pumpkin oatmeal! (P.s. I have no idea how I ate oatmeal every morning in Japan all last summer…I guess I was just that hungry!)

Words of Wisdom: breathe more and eat more cookies!

What is your favorite cookie recipe?

5 thoughts on “Breathing & Cookies

  1. WHOA!! I have never seen a cherry dipped cone in all my life?! That is so fantastic. Butterscotch, sure. Chocolate, YES. But cherry?! OMG I am so jealous. We get so jipped here in Canada at our Dairy Queens!

  2. oohhhh i am SO glad you liked the cookies! i think the pumpkin pie spice substitution sounds delightful – will have to try that. and i am sorry about the nightmare! those are the worst. however, your hair is looking adorable, so that’s a plus, right? 😉

    have a great week, and thanks for making the cookies!!!

    • Wow Holly thanks for commenting! While I was devouring your amazing cookies I decided that they would be just wonderful during the holiday season! So all of my family will be getting a tin of your cookies in the mail come December. ~.^

      Thanks for the hair comment but I am again having issues!!

  3. Pingback: 2011 Cookie Review | Blueberries and Oats

Leave a Reply

