<3 Market Day

003

Woke up bright and early this morning, excited to head to the Farmer’s Market with my friend, Karlie! I knew I wanted to be able to try some of the deliciousness there, so I just had a snack for breakfast: Banana and White Chocolate Wonderful PB!

This was not enough for my 30 minute intense bike ride to the downtown area. Boy was it rough. It is so much harder to bike when you are scared for your life the entire time. I don’t think I’ll be biking all the way to school ever. The roads from my house to there are just too treacherous. Once I hit the lovely downtown area, everything slowed and calmed down. But before then, I drenched myself in sweat in fear.

Seriously, when I took off my helmet it looked like I’d just stepped out of the shower. >.< But go me for trying! Karlie ended up driving me and my bike back home after we were through. ❤

010

The day sure was beautiful.

012

For the second part of my breakfast I enjoyed a free slice of Honey Whole Wheat bread from Great Harvest. I put a tiny bit of butter and honey on it and damn it was good.

013

I also got a non-fat latte w/english toffee flavoring. It was decent but I was glad it didn’t taste overly sweet. I’m hoping that means they didn’t put a lot of syrup. >.< Only drank about 8 oz of this 12 oz. It’s always just a little too much!

014

The market was beautiful and we walked around for about two hours!

016

There was also an old car show going on, so we had to check it out.

018

It was pretty cute how the old men would stage their cars and stand around shinning them. ^_^

We also walked by Yo Waffle and were happy to see that it was now open! Of course we had to stop and try it.

019

It’s a self-serve frozen yogurt place, which we’ve never had before in Missoula. I was a little disappointed with their flavors (only one tart one…) but decided to give it a go anyway.

020

That had a 55(!) topping bar!

021

I ended up getting some tart mango peach nonfat frozen yogurt topped with some fresh strawberries, fresh mango, and chopped peanuts! It was delicious!

We ended up meeting the owner and he was such a nice guy! I really want this shop to survive but sadly I think it’s destined for failure. It just doesn’t stay nice enough in Montana for this kind of warm weather shop to last. =/

006

So what did I get at the market? Some fresh snap peas!

005

And garlic scape! I’ve been dying to try this since I saw this awesome recipe on Oh She Glows a year ago!

Once we finished browsing and shopping, we were ready for lunch. We decided to eat real food instead of vendor stuff and I wanted it to be fresh! The Catalyst is a local café that is simply delicious and is loaded with vegetarian options.

023

I loved how they serve their wine in old wine bottles. ^^ Makes you feel so fancy (of a lush at 12am!)

022

I chose after my much thought, the soup and salad combination.

Organic Arugula Salad: House-pickled Beets served alongside Organic Arugula dressed in ginger vinaigrette.  Topped w/ roasted Hazelnuts & creamy Goat Cheese.

Roasted Tomato soup w/fresh basil garnish.

Also comes with a fresh slice of bread!024

This lunch rocked my world. Only thing I would do different is not forget to ask for the dressing on the side >.<. It was way over dressed for my taste and actually had way too much goat cheese and hazelnuts. I ended up leaving a lot of them on my plate and bringing half the soup home for a snack around 5pm.

025

After Karlie dropped me off at home I knew I needed to get out of the house and get some much needed lab report done! So to Hastings I went where I treated myself to a Lemon Biscotti. ❤ So yummy and gave me enough juice to knock out my whole lab report! Both are finished now and all I need to worry about for the next three days is studying for my exam!007

Like I mentioned earlier, I knew I had to use those garlic scape to make this Easy Vegan Garlic Scape Pesto! I only made 2/3 of the recipe due to a short of vegan parmesan (I used a bottle of it I’d purchased a long time instead of making my own). I also forgot to add the spinach! >.< It still tasted amazing!!! I absolutely loved it and will definitely buy more garlic scape next weekend!

I had the pesto and penne on top of some sautéed green beans and carrots to get in more veggies. I’d forgotten how good carrots taste just simply cooked. Sadly, those were my last ones!

009

With my lovely meal I had a glass of California Zin. This one is sweet but not as sweet as some whites. I really enjoy sweet wines but I generally stay away from them because I don’t’ sip them slow enough!

028

Dessert was same as normal these days. =P 0% Blueberry Chobani with a heaping 1/4th cup Kashi Golean Crunch (plus flax)! It’s better than cake. I’m not sure if I’ll be buying the big Chobani packs at Costco anymore though. I’d rather just have plain and add my own fruits with their natural sugars.

Well I’m hopefully headed off to a movie with Chase and his friend Mike! I love that this week I’ve really gotten to do things other than chemistry and with people other than myself! Turns out, I like being social. >.> It’s strange.

Have a good night!

One thought on “<3 Market Day

  1. Pingback: A New Year | Blueberries and Oats

Leave a Reply

